The Happiest Mail Man In The World

Cindy had told me about him, but I didn’t pay attention. Something about The Talking Mail Man.


Oh. I said. 


But one day I was sitting by the window which I love to have opened – even when it’s cold – and I heard some animated talking below. 


At first, I thought someone was at the door, but I hadn’t heard a knock.  Still the animated talking continued outside. 


Then I was trying to determine the tone of the man talking below. 


There was seldom a pause and his is the only voice I heard. But I was still confused about a certain tone in his voice – below all that animated energy – what was behind that?  


And then. 


I heard it. 


Laughter. 

That was it. I immediately knew whoever it was still laughed. (That’s a good sign these days.)


And that’s when I realized what Cindy had meant:


The Talking Mail Man


It was him. 

So then I started listening for The Talking Mail Man. And I learned. 


This guy never stops talking. It could be hailing and he’d still be on the phone. He easily could have been a stockbroker. A billionaire who liked delivering the mail. 


Right?

Leave a Reply

