Write? Dance? Paint? Music? Practical Decisions Made Early in Life

Many will say artists are highly impractical creatures.
I say humbug to that.

I’d bet we are far better decision makers than top executives at top firms. And its methodology is simple. No complex formulas required to discover.

For us.
At least.

You often wonder why when masses of stupid people persist in identifying us through such a trait we just don’t stand up and rebel?

Guess what?

I was very young when I made my decision. Not more than 5, probably.

I took a good look at myself and said: “Now what do you want to do with yourself? Which one is it gonna be?”

“Why does it have to be one?” I said. “Why not as many as possible?”

“Whatever.”

“Based on my mathematical computations, I conclude the following order of concentration:

Writing
Dancing
Painting
Music

All you need is a pencil, pen, and paper for one.

And for the other, it’s all there. You walk around in it all the time – your body.”

5 thoughts on “Write? Dance? Paint? Music? Practical Decisions Made Early in Life

  1. I was faced with a choice at a difficult age
    Would I write a book, or should I take to the stage?
    But in the back of my head I heard distant feet
    Che Guevara and Debussy to a disco beat.

    — Neil Tennant

    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

