Another Round Of WordPress Statistics: OCD? BIPOLAR? MULTIPLE PERSONALITIES? Who knows!

Here we go again.
The Art of Numbers.
Their interpretation.

When I awoke early in anticipation and excitement about the Winter Storm headed our way, I instinctively came here, as well, to see what other surprises awaited.

And sure enough, it was a huge surprise!

An Arithmetic problem.
And I think I’ve mentioned before, my Arithmetic proficiency depends on 10 digits – my fingers.
It has to be visual.

However, multiplication of the number 5, has always been delightful, because it is so incredibly simple.

Still.
The puzzle lay ahead of me in all its Beauty and Wonder.

First reaction …
What the fuck!
2 divided by 51?
(Tim Cook, please provide the symbol for Division on my phone.
Thank you.)

Two divided by fifty is simple enough.
Half.
Two divided by fifty-one?
Hm.
Challenging.

The natural tendency is to reach for Balance.

Further breakdowns.
Two divided by five?
2.5.
(Similar to The Census Bureau’s Arithmetic of the America family.
Isn’t it something like 2.87 kids per family?)

Once again, I am reaching for Balance – and Equality.
But this approach is an utter failure.

So I assume that these two visitors have somehow managed to divide into Rational Numbers.
(Whatever that means.)

One viewed the same piece three times, while the other, viewed the same piece only twice.
That makes sense.
More sense than any attempt to divide them equally.
Much too complicated.

Thus the total views of 51 is rendered sensible.
25 + 26 = 51

Within that, I suppose any permutation is possible and infinite.
You can do that Arithmetic.

After my initial reaction of What the Fuck? I thought …

Definitely Bipolar.
But the more I thought about it, I stepped away from that impression, and thought …

OCD!
It’s gotta be.

But as I was composing the title, I hesitated again, and saw the less common diagnosis of Multiple Personality Disorder.

So, Mathematically, I am proposing the final vision and manifestation of this Arithmetic problem.

But please.
Go ahead.
And try to make sense of it …
If it excites you as much as it did me.

IMG_1711.PNG

IMG_1712.PNG

Leave a Reply

